Martin Luther King Center Scholarship

The mission of the scholarship is to encourage ethnic minority students, which are traditionally under-represented in college and postgraduate school, to apply and attend college. The Wichita Falls Area Miss Charlye O. Farris Scholarship is for students interested in the study of law to attend law school.

The deadline for submission of application is March 6th Applications must be postmarked no later than March 6th. Faxed applications will not be accepted.

Requirements for Eligibility:

To be eligible to receive a Wichita Falls Area Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and/or Miss Charlye O. Farris
Scholarship, applicants must meet all of the following requirements:

1. The applicant must have qualified for acceptance or currently enrolled in college or
postgraduate school in the fall of the current year. Please submit all acceptance letters.

2. Upon admission of the application, the applicant must have achieved a minimum cumulative
grade point average of 2.5 (on a 4.0 grading scale) as of the most recent completed semester.
A transcript must be provided.

3. The applicant must be a citizen of the United States and a resident of the greater Wichita
Falls Area. The greater Wichita Falls Area includes Texas students within 60 miles of
Wichita Falls. Students that are citizens and residents of a foreign country, even if they plan
to attend school in the greater Wichita Falls area, are not eligible to apply.

Click here for the Scholarship Application Packet.

Martin Luther King Center
1100 Smith Street
Wichita Falls, TX



Michael Davis